Fueling My Recovery

Posted: June 21, 2012 in food
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday I injured my Achilles tendon during a 5k recovery run through the rolling hills of my local neighborhood of Curridabat, located in San Jose, Costa Rica.   Today was day 1 of an unknown amount of rest and recovery.  After the first 15 hours of rest, ice, compression and elevation I can, without hesitiation, proclaim, “I am bored!”

Honestly, the day followed a fairly normal routine of following up on emails for my business, wasting too much time perusing Facebook and an assortment of strength training, running and Paleo diet websites, as well as an errand or two taking me to the local supermarket, Auto Mercado.

My state of mind, however, had me in the dumps, and I needed to dig deep into the motivational well to lift my spirits.

And what better way to do it?  Tilapia and shrimp sauteed in olive oil, garlic, butter and lemon pepper.  A small side salad of tomato, avocado and black olives.  Not included in the photo are several generous glasses of Casillero del Diablo’s tasty Malbec from Chile.

tilapia, shrimp, avocado, tomato, black olives

A delicious meal that mostly falls within the Paleo guidelines, minus a small amount of Black Swan Hot sauce.

Leave a Reply

