Oh, the Irony

Posted: June 22, 2012 in gear, running
Tags: , , , , ,

To be a great comic, they say that timing is everything.  I believe in that theory, and not only as it relates to generating laughs.  Today is day 2 of recovering from an Achilles tendon strain.  My plans were for a relaxed and lazy day around the house.  A little cooking for the kids when they get home from school.  Testing out some new tennis ball massage techniques for my hamstrings and calves.  And maybe an hour of talking to my laptop while navigating a Rosetta Stone lesson plan in German.

An email arrived that took me completely by surprise.  My new running shoes had arrived and were ready for pick-up.

Inov-8 Road-X 233

Weird angle. I promise that neither my legs nor my feet are that stubby.

A few months ago when I began my latest attempt at running again I was inspired by all of the information I was digesting regarding barefoot and minimalist running.  So I did about a month of barefoot walking and walk/jog training on the treadmill.  Once I began running 3x per week for at least 30 minutes I transitioned to a pair of minimalist kicks, the Inov-8 F-Lite 195.

I love those shoes, and although I don’t have experience with any other minimalist models to make a comparison, I can’t imagine I could be much happier with another brand.  Well done Inov-8!

The shoes that arrived today are the Inov-8 Road-X 233.  I ordered this pair for several reasons.  I wanted a second pair of shoes to alternate runs in, so as not to destroy either pair too quickly and also so that whatever tiny differences existed in my gait with different shoes could help avoid repetitive motion injuries.  I know that’s probably a generous stretch of logic, but it’s nice to rationalize a luxury purchase when you can.

In addition, I wanted to add some diversity and flexibility into my choices, depending on where I might schedule my runs.  As the name suggests, the Road-X is designed specifically for road work,  and the F-Lite 195 is a general purpose fitness shoe that has some light trail capability with its slightly raised tread pattern.  The Road-X sports a 6mm heel to toe differential and weigh in at 8.2 ounces.  Not quite as minimal as the F-Lites  but well within my comfort zone.

Most likely I will not be writing up any type of review for these shoes other than to say that thus far I am very impressed with Inov-8, and would recommend their shoes without hesitation.  I don’t feel I posses the technical knowledge or running experience to dive further into discussing fascia bands, lateral this, and medial that.

After all, the only testing I will be doing in the immediate future is walking around the house.

Timing is everything.

 

###

 

Comments
  1. 10n84w says:

    Just a quick note after wearing the Road-X 233 around the house for a couple of days. These shoes fit my feet in a very different manner than my F-Lite 195.

    Inov-8 describes the F-Lites as ‘performance fit’ and the Road-X 233 as an ‘anatomic’ fit.

    For my foot, this translates to a much tighter and snugger fit around my heel compared the the F-Lites. I haven’t had the opportunity to run in them yet, so I don’t know if this will prove to be a pro, con, or a non-issue.

    But the difference is immediately noticeable, so worth bearing in mind.

Leave a Reply

