Unfortunately, my version of the iconic Willie Nelson tune refers not to my 5 foot, 10 inch frame striding at an efficient 180 steps per minute down a picturesque trail, or even my uncoordinated flailing that probably tempts any unlucky onlookers to call 911, as I struggle down the final stretches of asphalt during a longer run.

No such luck for me.  On The Road Again simply refers to my current travels which find me back in Miami, the city of my collegiate experience and afterwards, about roughly 15 years of pondering why I lived there for so long.

I arrived at Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO) at a very bleary eyed 5am this morning in preparation for a 7:15am flight to the Magic City, Gateway to the Americas, aka The Capital of Latin America.  And here I am, sitting in my hotel room, nursing an Achilles tendon strain that has been slowly improving day by day, until now.

My hope was to use these fours days in Miami as my final rest and recovery effort, and maybe even sneak in a test run or two on the hotel’s treadmill.  I let out a rather loud, and possibly rude chuckle when I took a tour of the hotel to inspect the fitness center.  Instead of an array of ellipticals, treadmills and the like, I discovered an otherwise abandoned hallway located beyond the hotel’s restaurant and en route to the pool (another victim of heavy handed Photoshop enhancement.)

One treadmill, one stationary bike and one out-of-service elliptical machine stood in ragged formation as if they were the last survivors of an unseen battle.  And perhaps they are.  Veterans of the hotel’s budget wars.

The F-Lites earned frequent flyer miles but aren’t racking up any road or treadmill runs.

My desire to complain however, was tempered both by my sleep deprived state, and more importantly, by the fact that my Achilles tendon and ankle are now slightly swollen, a condition that neither had displayed at any previous time since my injury.

I’m writing this entry as I my heel wedges its way deeper into my hotel room’s ice bucket.  Word to the wise, if you’re ever in room #514 ask for a new ice bucket!

I haven’t panicked yet because I am going to remain positive and attribute this slight swelling to the airplane travel and a fairly common case of foot and ankle edema, exacerbated by the preexisting injury.

But to be 100% honest with you it’s mentally tough.  I’m trying to convince myself that all will be fine, and that I should go ahead and book my return trip to Miami for the 2013 ING Half Marathon.

I guess in a worst case scenario I will have front row seats to an exciting show on the beach.

On the road again.  But when?

 

###

 

 

Leave a Reply

