Reviewing my previous posts caused me to realize that I’ve been boring you to tears with the sob story of my Achilles tendon injury.  Let me apologize and lead us down a new path by adding the last word regarding that issue.  As of today I am taking an anti-inflammatory for recent swelling and pain, despite roughly 10 days of variations on the RICE theme.  Until I am running again or diagnosed with a condition requiring surgery, I’ll refrain from discussing the topic again. Woo-hoo!

It’s been a busy week and I can happily proclaim that it was productive, hectic, joyful and relaxing all at the same time.

Pacuare River, Class IV rapids

My wife and I made a white water rafting trip down the Rio Pacuare to celebrate our sixth wedding anniversary two weeks ago.  It was by far the best organized and most enjoyed trip we’ve made since living in Costa Rica.  The journey to the river took us by the Volcan Turrialba, one of the many volcanoes in Costa Rica, and one of several that are active.  On our way to the rapids it was spewing a solid column of grey-white ash and smoke.  Apparently what we saw was just a prelude, as the volcano finally blew its top last week.  Woo-hoo!

Turrialba Volcano erupting

On Tuesday I made a flight back to the United States to spend a few days in Miami.  A few times per year I return to knock out early Christmas shopping, grab a few birthday gifts, as well as more mundane tasks such as paying my respects to the banking industry, accountants, lawyers and the such.

The commute from my home in San Jose to the Juan Santamaria International Airport traverses the General Cañas Highway, which is the primary transportation route for all traffic connecting the city to the airport and beyond.  According to the Public Works and Tranportation Administration (MOPT) the highway will need 3 weeks of repairs and advised daily commuters to either “work from home or take a vacation.”  Welcome to life in Costa Rica!

Highway sinkhole in Costa Rica

According to government officials a tree clogged the sewer system that lies beneath the highway.  Coupled with massive run-off from the recent down pours of the country’s rainy season, the duo proved too much for the road to withstand causing the collapse.

I arrived at the airport at 5am for my 7:15am flight and missed the sinkhole disaster by roughly 12 hours.  Woo-hoo!

My 4 days in Miami had a few bumps in the road that mostly revolved around lost or dishonest taxi drivers and their upscale, car service counterparts.  The positives however far outweighed the minor annoyances.

I’ve been a follower of the Primal Blueprint for roughly 5 or 6 months and love the results.  But I don’t shy away from enjoying any food options when they are opportunities that present themselves few and far between.  Miami is well known for its large Cuban population, and they bring a lot to the table.  Pun fully intended.

Sergios Cuban Food

I didn’t eat both of those delicious sandwiches but I easily could have!  If you are ever in the mood for a great sampling of Cuban cuisine, Sergio’s is the place to go in Miami.

The highlight of the week however had to be my trip to the new, Miami Marlins baseball stadium.  Marlins Park opened to usher in the 2012 MLB season.  The park seats 37,000 fans, has a retractable roof, swimming pool, and a diverse choice of food vendors that include everything from traditional hot dogs and hamburgers, to kosher food, bbq, seafood, latin fare, pizza, and even a gluten-free vendor.

I purchased the tickets for the game a few days in advance after viewing one of Groupon’s local deal emails.  Offering 58% off regular prices for a variety of seating options the discount was a great way to sit in seats I otherwise would not have purchased.

Spending an evening with great friends, while reminiscing about days gone by, drinking a few beers and watching the home team hit consecutive home runs to win the game is an experience that  beats most.

Miami Marlins Park

When we are down in the dumps about something, like not running for 10 days due to some mystery Achilles injury, it’s easy to start feeling jaded and cynical about things.  But it’s vital to remember that most of our sufferings are trivial in the greater scheme of life, and if we open our eyes and hearts there are plenty of great experiences waiting to be had.

###

Leave a Reply

