The sad story that is my attempt to run continues, one demoralizing chapter at a time. Right foot: bone spurs and steroid injections directly into my ankle and sole with 3 inch needles. Left foot: bone spurs and plantar fasciitis. And most recently, not to be left lonely and unnoticed, my left knee has developed an intense pain and tenderness directly beneath the kneecap.

But hey, this blog isn’t about feeling sorry for myself, so let’s get to the good news. I am still young and handsome, after all. What’s that? Oh, damn! Never mind.

I took an anti-inflammatory, Celebra, for three days when the knee pain appeared last week. And I’ve adjusted my schedule by reducing my total runs to 4 over the past two weeks. The Celebra eliminated the pain and I did not run while medicating, hoping to bounce back and not look back. Unfortunately things didn’t work out that way, and yesterday after two more days of rest the pain reappeared while walking up the stairs.

On Sunday of this week I am scheduled to run in the City Tour 10k. My performance and preparation are going to be suspect, at best. But that’s life. You do what you can, when you can, and the rest is the randomness of living on a planet that rotates on its axis at roughly 1000 miles per hour.

I received an update from the race organizers stating that due to safety and security concerns the route for the 10k had to be slightly altered. So it looks like we will be running 9.5k instead, which equates to 5.9 miles. That should help me accomplish my goal of a sub 1:00:00 finishing time, but over an incomplete distance.

And now, for those of you who demand to be entertained by a real runner, a guy who is out there running marathons, ultra-marathons and sprinting up Pike’s Peak, I bring you Mr. Sage Canaday of Vo2Max Productions, who recently filmed an adventure run in the Grand Canyon: Rim to Rim to Rim.

Enjoy, and may you have the best run of your life each and every time you lace up your shoes.

 

###

Leave a Reply

